Who We Are

Who we are

JCK Underground staff are its biggest asset. Clients benefit from their diverse backgrounds in the fields of construction, engineering, program management, and construction management.

Jennifer Jordan, P.E.
PRINCIPAL
Geotechnical Engineer (20+ years): tunnel design & construction; subsurface exploration programs; geotechnical baseline & data reports; ground movement; instrumentation.

+1 781 454 9858
jordan@jckunderground.com

vCard

Rafael Castro, P.E.
PRINCIPAL
Geotechnical Engineer (25+ years): tunnel planning, design, construction & program management; contracting practices; constructability; ground movement.

+1 617 785 9839
castro@jckunderground.com

vCard

Joel Kantola, P.E.
PRINCIPAL
Geotechnical Engineer (25+ years): tunnel planning, contracting, design, program management, construction management; contracting practices; risk management; ground improvement; geotechnical foundation and wall design; dredging.

+1 857 294 1317
kantola@jckunderground.com

vCard

Rosa Castro-Krawiec, P.E.
PRINCIPAL
Structural Engineer (30+ years): tunnel, shaft, and near-surface structure design & construction; design criteria development; existing structure modification and expansion.

+1 781 724 5370
Castro-krawiec@jckunderground.com

vCard

Geoff Hughes
PRINCIPAL
Project Manager (20+ years): underground infrastructure program, design, and construction management; contracting practice; dispute resolution; geotechnical investigation.

+1 202 288 5838
hughes@jckunderground.com

vCard

Gregory M. Hauser, P.E.
Technical Expert
Senior Construction Project Manager (40+ years); Industry leader as an underground contractor; delivery of complex underground tunnels & structures for subway, highway, sewer, and water projects; large diameter TBMs.

+1 206 533 4077
hauser@jckunderground.com

vCard

Stephen Njoloma, P.E.
Senior Associate
Geotechnical Engineer (19+ years): tunnel and shaft design for transit, water/wastewater, freight rail projects; design management; design criteria development; subsurface exploratory programs.

+1 206 849 0895
njoloma@jckunderground.com

vCard

James Ohnigian, P.E.
Senior Construction Manager
Senior Construction Manager (30+ years): Construction management for complex tunnel, highway, and rail projects; construction claims; dispute resolution.

+1 781 640 2986
ohnigian@jckunderground.com

vCard

James Foley
Senior Associate
Senior Construction Project Manager (25+ years): Heavy civil underground construction; cost estimating; project planning; project controls & scheduling; light & heavy subway, water/sewer, specialty tunnels.

+1 219 806 0713
foley@jckunderground.com

vCard

Harald Cordes, P.E.
Senior Associate
Tunnel Engineer (20+ years): tunnel planning, design & construction; contracting practices; value engineering; ground movement; TBM technology & performance.

+1 646 808 5743
cordes@jckunderground.com

vCard

Phaidra Campbell, P.E.
Associate
Professional Engineer (10+ years): tunnel and shaft planning, design, & construction; subsurface exploration programs; ground improvement; tunnel inspection; instrumentation.

+1 831 238 0550
campbell@jckunderground.com

vCard

Ryan Payne, P.E.
Associate
Geotechnical Engineer (10+ years): tunnel & deep foundation design & construction management; TBM and geotechnical instrumentation systems; resident engineering.

+1 202 997 1185
payne@jckunderground.com

vCard

Gregory Smith
Associate
Construction Manager (20+ years): tunnel, transit, infrastructure, commercial & institutional building construction management; cost & schedule management; construction claims.

+1 603 455 7057
smith@jckunderground.com

vCard

Matthew Over, PhD, P.E.
Associate
Structural Engineer (7+ years): Underground and above-grade structure design & construction; tunnel linings; support of excavation systems; design criteria development; hydrogeology; groundwater field exploration programs.

+1 925 222 0318
over@jckunderground.com

vCard

Zachary Spera, P.E.
Senior Engineer
Geotechnical Engineer (9+ years): tunnel & shaft planning and design; subsurface exploration programs; structural and geotechnical design; construction impact assessment for adjacent structures.

+1 781 910 4911
spera@jckunderground.com

vCard

Gerald Aspiras, P.E.
Senior Engineer
Geotechnical Engineer (10+ years): geotechnical instrumentation, analysis; subsurface exploration programs; ground improvement; geotechnical baseline reports.

+1 714 931 9538
aspiras@jckunderground.com

vCard

Michael Field, P.E.
Senior Engineer
Geotechnical Engineer (10+ years): geotechnical baseline & data reports; ground movement; instrumentation; tunnel asset management and inspection; shaft; near surface structures.

+1 540 440 1824
field@jckunderground.com

vCard

Hamid Erfan
Business Manager
Financial Professions (32+ years): financial management and business administration; accounting and back-office management; fiscal strategies and planning.

+1 925 337 3773
erfan@jckunderground.com

vCard

Paulette Souza
Administrative Assistant
Administration Management (31+ years): account and project management; office administration; operational training.

+1 508 840 4570
souza@jckunderground.com

vCard

JCK Underground is an employee-owned firm providing specialized services to clients undertaking underground projects. No matter what phase or size of the task, we break down complex challenges to develop efficient solutions while maintaining a focus on achieving broader project goals.

We provide our clients an essential balance of skills and resources that responds to their needs, blending fresh ideas with the tried-and-trusted. Our diverse pool of seasoned talent has an uncommon ability to identify and prioritize the physical and organizational risks inherent to working underground to effectively manage them.

For both public and private clients, JCK Underground extends program management, engineering and construction management services to:

  • Water and Wastewater
  • Light and Heavy Rail Transit
  • Roads and Highways
  • Utilities

Whatever your needs as an owner, consultant, or construction contractor, you can depend on us to guide your path to success by helping you understand and manage the underground.

Our business is to ensure our clients’ success. We deliver high value services for underground projects, fostering innovation through collaboration.

From planning and conceptual design, through construction and commissioning, JCK Underground offers a comprehensive range of services. We understand that each client is confronted with unique sets of challenges and circumstances, and are readily available and responsive to customizing our services to match our clients’ needs and meet project challenges.